Board of Trustees

The National Museum shall be governed by a Board of Trustees, vested with the following powers and functions:

(a) To represent and mobilize pertinent areas of the private sector and the public sector in support of the mission and aims of the National Museum;

(b) To serve as the appointing authority for the Head of Agency and Agency Management;

(c) To exercise general oversight on behalf of both the private and public sector over the operations and performance of the National Museum through the Head of Agency and Agency Management;

(d) To approve strategic policies, goals and directions for the National Museum where necessary, and any such special projects and programs as it may consider appropriate to carry out for its benefit, for implementation through the Head of Agency and Agency Management;

(e) To administer the National Museum Endowment Fund, National Museum Donations Fund and National Museum Income Fund as provided for in this Act;

(f) To consider and appropriately dispose of appeals regarding administrative decisions of the Head of Agency, where appropriate in line with pertinent laws and issuances; and

(g) To carry out such other functions as provided herein, as well as in other pertinent laws and issuances.

Mr. Andoni M. Aboitiz


Sen. Loren Legarda 

Sen. Maria Lourdes Nancy S. Binay

Chairperson, Senate Committee on Culture and the Arts

Vice Chair, Senate Committee on Culture and the Arts

Rep. Roman T. Romulo

Chairperson, House of Representative Committee on Basic Education and Culture

V.P. Sara Z. Duterte-Carpio

Usec. Gina O. Gonong

Department of Education

Undersecretary for Curriculum and Teaching

Sec.  Maria Antonia Yulo Loyzaga

Department of Environment and Natural Resources

Sec. Ma. Esperanza Christina Garcia Frasco

Atty. Shereen Gail Yu-Pamintuan

Department of Tourism

Undersecretary for Administration and Finance

Victorino Mapa Manalo, CESE

Chairman, National Commission for Culture and the Arts

Mr. Jeremy R. Barns, CESO III

Director-General, National Museum of the Philippines

Mr. Carlo B. Ebeo

Private Sector [Distinguished Filipino Artist, Architect or Cultural Worker]

Fr. Rene Pio B. Javellana, S.J.

Private Sector [Distinguished Filipino Anthropologist or Historian]

Dr. Jurgenne H. Primavera

Private Sector [Distinguished Filipino Scientist in the field of Natural History]

Mr. Philip Y. Rodriguez

Private Sector

Previous Chairpersons
Antonio O. Cojuanco 1998-2010
Hilarion M. Henares, Jr. 2010-2011
Ramon R. Del Rosario, Jr. 2011-2018
Evangelina Lourdes M. Arroyo-Bernas 2018-2022