National Museum welcomes its new BOT Chairperson, Mr. Andoni M. Aboitiz

On January 11, 2023, the fifth Chairperson of the Board of Trustees of the National Museum of the Philippines, Mr. Andoni M. Aboitiz, was inducted into office by Senator Nancy Binay.

Previous Chairpersons since the Board of Trustees of the National Museum of the Philippines was established under Republic Acts No. 8492 and 11333 were Antonio O. Cojuangco, Jr. (1999-2010), Hilarion M. Henares, Jr. (2010), Ramon R. del Rosario, Jr. (2010-2018), and Evangelina M. Arroyo-Bernas (2018-2022).

Already a member of the Board of Trustees since 2019, appointed thereto as a representative of the private sector by President Rodrigo Duterte, Mr. Aboitiz was formally designated as Chairperson by President Ferdinand R. Marcos, Jr. in an appointment dated last December 23, 2022, to succeed Ms. Evangelina “Luli” Macapagal Arroyo-Bernas, who is the new Philippine ambassador to the Republic of Austria.

Former Chairperson Arroyo-Bernas was on hand to witness the induction of her successor, and she was accompanied by several trustees and officers of the National Museum of the Philippines led by Director-General Jeremy Barns.

Mr. Aboitiz, a known supporter of heritage, culture and the arts, also gave a brief greeting and self-introduction to the officers and staff of the National Museum of the Philippines in a general assembly, during which he articulated his commitment to supporting further strides for the institution as well as his vision for open leadership and enhanced relevance of the work of the National Museum to the Filipino people and our friends from all around the world.